Seven Stories cover
View Gallery

Available in

Seven Stories

List Price: $10.00

July 26, 2022 | Paperback | 144 pages  | ISBN 9781640095458
Order Now From Find a local bookstore

A master of the short form, Gina Berriault stands somewhere between Chekhov and Isaac Babel in style and psychological acuity.

“Berriault writes real fiction . . . She deepens reality, complements it and affords us the bliss of knowing, for a moment, what we cannot know.” —The Nation

“A wonderful storyteller and a beautiful writer.” —Grace Paley

The seven stories—“Infinite Passion of Expectation,” “Tea Ceremony,” “The Mistress,” “The Overcoat,” “Stolen Pleasures,” “Works of the Imagination,” and “Women in Their Beds”—offer a glimpse into the oeuvre of one of the most celebrated voices in American letters.

About Gina Berriault

GINA BERRIAULT was the author of four novels, three short story collections, and several screenplays. One of the most celebrated short story writers in her lifetime, she was the recipient of multiple prestigious awards, including the PEN/Faulkner Award, the National Book Critics Circle Award, the Rea Award for the Short Story, and a Commonwealth Gold Medal for Literature. She died in 1999.

Related Products