View Gallery


Epitaph for a Tramp and Epitaph for a Dead Beat

The Harry Fannin Detective Novels

List Price: $16.95

November 15, 2006 | Paperback | 4-1/2 x 8, 320 pages | ISBN 9781593761349
Order Now From Find a local bookstore

Before achieving critical acclaim as a novelist, David Markson paid the rent by writing several crime novels, including two featuring the private detective Harry Fannin. Together here in one volume, these works are now available to a new generation of readers.

In Epitaph for a Tramp, Fannin isn’t called out to investigate a murder — it happens on his doorstop. In the sweltering heat of a New York August night, he answers the buzzer at his door to find his promiscuous ex–wife dying from a knife wound. To find her killer, Fannin plies his trade with classic hard–boiled aplomb. In the second novel, Epitaph for a Dead Beat, Fannin finds himself knee–deep in murder among the beatniks and bohemians of the early 1960s, where blood seems to flow as readily as cheap Chianti.

Intricately plotted and rife with wisecracks, David Markson offers suspenseful and literary crime novels.

About David Markson

David Markson is the author of five novels, including Springer's Progress, Wittgenstein's Mistress, and Reader's Block. He is the recipient of several awards and fellowships, including a National Endowment for the Arts Fellowship, and a Salon Book Award. He lives in New York City.

Related Products