That Distant Land

The Collected Stories

Choose a Format

On Sale: | $18.95

9781593760540 | Paperback 6 x 9 | 448 pages Buy it Now

On Sale: | $14.99

9781582439303 | Ebook | 464 pages Buy it Now

Book Description

Originally published in 2005, That Distant Land brings together twenty–three stories from the Port William Membership. Arranged in their fictional chronology, the book is not an anthology so much as it is a coherent temporal mapping of this landscape over time, revealing Berry’s mastery of decades of the life lived alongside this clutch of interrelated characters bound by affection and followed over generations.

This volume combines the stories found in The Wild Birds (1985), Fidelity (1992), and Watch with Me (1994), together with a map and a charting of the complex and interlocking genealogies.

About the Author

Praise For This Book

"Berry is the master of earthy country living seen through the eyes of laconic farmers.... He makes his stories shine with meaning and warmth."