by  on Nov 15, 2016

Kirkus calls Natashia Deón a “powerful new voice in American fiction,” and recognizes Grace as one of the best fiction books of 2016. Read the full review here.

by  on Aug 18, 2016

Tod Goldberg, author of Gangsterland, received the 2016 Silver Pen Award from the Nevada Writers Hall of Fame. Read more about the announcement here.

by  on Jul 11, 2016

Authors Abby Geni (The Lightkeepers) and Rebecca Kauffman (Another Place You’ve Never Been) make the 2016 Center for Fiction First Novel Prize Long List. Read article here.


by Dory Athey on May 19, 2016
Wendell Berry‘s story “Dismemberment” has been selected as a 2016 O. Henry Prize Story. Congratulations Wendell! View the full list of story winners here.
by Dory Athey on May 09, 2016
Counterpoint and Soft Skull Press are thrilled to announce that Joshua Mohr, Steven Nightingale, and Peter Coyote have been nominated for Poetry Flash‘s 2016 Northern California Book Awards. Joshua Mohr is the author of All This Life: A Novel, Steven Nightingale is the author of Granada: A Pomegranate in the Hand of God, and Peter Coyote is the author of The Rainman’s Third Cure: An Irregular Education. View the list of nominees here and view the details of the awards ceremony here.
by Dory Athey on May 04, 2016

Lauret Savoy‘s book Trace: Memory, History, Race, and the American Landscape has been shortlisted for Stanford University Libraries’ 2016 William Saroyan International Prize for Writing. The prize commemorates the life, legacy, and intentions of William Saroyan and is intended to encourage new or emerging writers. View the full shortlist here.

Congratulations Lauret!

by Dory Athey on Apr 08, 2016

The Southern Independent Booksellers Association announced the shortlist for 2016 Pat Conroy Southern Book Prize, and Wendell Berry‘s book Our Only World: Ten Essays is a finalist for the Death of Santini Nonfiction Prize. The winners will be announced on July 4.

Congratulations Wendell!

by Dory Athey on Mar 24, 2016

The 2016 Colorado Book Awards named Steven and Joyce Singular‘s book The Spiral Notebook: The Aurora Theater Shooter and the Epidemic of Mass Violence Committed by American Youth a finalist in the Creative Nonfiction category. The Colorado Book Awards honors outstanding Colorado authors, editors, illustrators, and photographers. View the full list of finalists here.

Congratulations Steven and Joyce!

by Dory Athey on Mar 22, 2016

Ann Pancake‘s story collection Me and My Daddy Listen to Bob Marley: Novellas and Stories was named a finalist for the 2015 Weatherford Award for Best Appalachian Books in the fiction category. See the full list of winners and nominees here.

Congratulations Ann!


by Dory Athey on Mar 01, 2016
Counterpoint and Soft Skull Press are excited to announce that six of our authors have been longlisted for the SIBA Pat Conroy Southern Book Prize. Padma Viswananthan‘s The Ever After of Ashwin Rao: A Novel, Nic Brown‘s In Every Way: A Novel, Jeremy Hawkins‘ The Last Days of Video: A Novel, Corey Mesler‘s Memphis Movie: A Novel, Wendell Berry‘s Our Only World: Ten Essays, and Karen E. Bender‘s Refund: Stories were all longlisted for the prize. The winners will be announced in July 2016. View the full list of award and nominees here.
by Dory Athey on Feb 17, 2016
Counterpoint and Soft Skull Press are proud to announce Joshua Mohr and Summer Brennan have been nominated for the 2016 NCIBA Book Awards. Joshua Mohr, author of All This Life: A Novel, is a finalist for the fiction category. Summer Brennan, author of The Oyster War: The True Story of a Small Farm, Big Politics, and the Future of Wilderness in America, is a finalist in the Regional Interest category. View the full list of finalists and cast your votes here.