by Dory Athey on Jan 25, 2016
Spectrum Culture ran a review of Galway Kinnell‘s book Black Light: A Novel. View the full review here.
by Dory Athey on Jan 21, 2016

The Charlotte Observer correspondent Dannye Romine Powell mentioned Jane Vandenburgh‘s book A Pocket History of Sex in the Twentieth Century: A Memoir after reading her poem “When Grace at the Bliss Cafe Calls” on View the full article here.

by Dory Athey on Dec 15, 2015

Congratulations to Wendell Berry and Lauret Savoy, who have both made PEN America’s 2016 longlists.

Wendell Berry’s Our Only World: Ten Essays was longlisted for the PEN/Diamonstein-Spielvogel Award for the Art of the Essay, which is awarded to a book of essays published in 2015 that exemplifies the dignity and esteem that the essay form imparts to literature. View the full PEN/Diamonstein-Spielvogel Award longlist here.

Lauret Savoy’s Trace: Memory, History, Race, and the American Landscape was longlisted for the PEN Open Book Award, which is awarded to book-length writings by authors of color. View the full PEN Open Book Award longlist here.

by Dory Athey on Nov 11, 2015

Teresa Jordan, author of The Year of Living Virtuously: Weekends Off, was awarded the 2015 Utah Book Award in Nonfiction. The Utah Book Award was established by the Salt Lake City Public Library to honor exceptional achievements by Utah writers and to recognize outstanding literature written with a Utah theme or setting. View the full list of winners and finalists here.

Congratulations Teresa!

by Dory Athey on Oct 16, 2015

Bruce Holbert, author of The Hour of Lead: A Novel, has won the 2015 Washington State Book Award in fiction.

The Washington Center for the Book administers the annual Washington State Book Awards (formerly the Governor’s Writers Awards), given for outstanding books published by Washington authors the previous year.

Congratulations Bruce!

by Dory Athey on Oct 14, 2015

Dennis McNally, author of the book On Highway 61: Music, Race, and the Evolution of Cultural Freedom, was awarded a 2015 ASCAP Deems Taylor/Virgil Thomson Award.

The 47th annual ASCAP Foundation Deems Taylor/Virgil Thomson Award honors outstanding print, broadcast, and news media coverage of music. The awards were established in 1967 to honor the memory of composer, critic and commentator Deems Taylor, who died in 1966 after a distinguished career that included six years as President of ASCAP. Last year the Awards were renamed to also honor the memory of Virgil Thomson (1896 – 1989), one of the leading American composers and critics of the 20th Century, and a former member of the ASCAP board of directors.

by Dory Athey on Oct 05, 2015

Counterpoint is thrilled to announce that Stars Go Blue by Laura Pritchett was awarded the 2015 High Plains Books Award for Fiction.

The Billings Public Library Board has established the High Plains Book Awards to recognize regional authors and/or literary works which examine and reflect life on the High Plains including the states of Montana, North Dakota, South Dakota, Wyoming, Nebraska, Colorado, and Kansas, and the Canadian provinces of Alberta, Manitoba, and Saskatchewan.

Congratulations, Laura!