View Gallery

Editions

Traveling at Home

With Wood Engravings by John DePol

List Price: $22.00

October 18, 2011 | Hardcover | 6.3 x 9.3, 80 Pages | ISBN 9781582437644
Order Now From Indiebound

The fifteen poems and one essay included here, personally selected by Wendell Berry from among his previously published work, quietly and joyously celebrate the enduring satisfactions of good work and a happy home.

Traveling at Home opens with “A Walk Down Camp Branch,” an essay in which the author reveals his special connection to nature and his rural Kentucky community. Next are poems from 1957 to 1982 in which Berry establishes his enduring themes—the contemplation of the individual’s place within community and the interdependence of all things. In conclusion is a group of the Sabbath poems in which the poet speaks with reverence and humility of the pains and joys of relationships with the land, with family, and with passing generations.

Originally published as a limited edition in 1988, Traveling at Home pairs Mr. Berry’s eloquent writings with John DePol’s exquisite woodcuts. It is one of the most beautiful presentations of this well-loved writer’s work.

WENDELL BERRY is the author of more than fifty books of poetry, fiction, and essays. He was recently awarded the Cleanth Brooks Medal for Lifetime Achievement by the Fellowship of Southern Writers and the Louis Bromfield Society Award. For more than forty years he has lived and farmed with his wife, Tanya, in Kentucky.

Praise

“Berry is a philosopher, poet, novelist, and an essayist in the tradition of Emerson and Thoreau… like Thoreau, he marches to a different drummer, a drummer we would do well to be aware of.” —San Francisco Chronicle

“He can be said to have returned American poetry to a Wordsworthian clarity of purpose.” —New York Times Book Review

Related Products